Is Risotto Gluten Free?
Risotto is so delicious your probably wondering is Risotto gluten free? Well yes in most cases it is! Gluten is a form of protein that exists in wheat and wheat byproducts, risotto is traditionally made with Arborio rice and slowly cooked to absorb wine and broth with an addition of cheese. You can stop asking and worrying is risotto gluten free because the answer is yes.
Risotto is the ultimate comfort food! Not only is it warm and cheesy but the rice is plumped with white wine! Yes it’s true if you have never had risotto your in for a treat. Crack open that 2 litre bottle of wine and pour yourself a glass and enjoy! After all you only need 1/2 glass wine for the recipe. 🙂
The usual method of making rice is to add water or broth and rice to a pot and boil until its done. A very simple process. Risotto is a more involved type of cooking rice and it begs your constant attention.
6 cups vegetable broth – warmed
1/2 cup white wine
1 1/2 cups arborio rice
1 onion diced
2 tbsp ghee
1 cup sliced white mushrooms
1 cup assorted wild mushrooms
1/4 cup sliced green onions
1/2 cup parmesan cheese
1. In a large saucepan, heat 1 tbsp Ghee and add mushrooms. Saute the mushrooms until slightly browned and soft then remove and set aside.2. Add 1 tbsp ghee it pan and add onions, cook until soft and translucent. Add rice and stir for about 2 minutes allowing the rice to be coated in the oil and take on a slight golden color.
3. Add the wine while stirring constantly until the rice fully absorbs the wine.
4. Slowly add the heated vegetable stock 1/2 cup at a time while stirring and waiting for the rice to absorb all the liquid before adding more. About 15-20 minutes and the rice is al dente. (firm yet not crunchy in the middle)
5. Remove from heat, stir in the mushrooms, green onions and parmesan cheese.
6. Season with salt and pepper to taste.
7. Drink the remaining wine white and enjoy!